Xi’an

Last weekend I traveled from Beijing to visit Xi’an.  Xi’an is the capital of the Shaanxi province of China, and is also home to the Terracotta Army.

I traveled to Xi’an via train from Beijing.  The 12-hour trip was mostly uneventful.  I watched Zombieland on my tablet and slept (like a rock).

The train station at Xi’an was a sea of people.  Most were waiting to get train tickets so they could travel for Chinese New Years.

For 7 RMB I took a micro-bus to the Terracotta Army museum.  The museum is located 75 minutes outside of Xi’an.

Entry to the museum was 110 RMB.  As you can see in addition to the 3 covered solider pits there is a museum and a park.  Well worth the 110 RMB.

The timeline of the discovery of the Terracotta Army.  The army itself was assembled for the first emperor of China.  To protect him in the afterlife, an entire army, complete with supporting staff, was built of stone.  He recruited 700,000 of his closest friends to lend a hand.  And you thought helping a friend move was bad.  In the late 1970’s a group of farmers digging a well discovered pieces of the stone soldiers.  The area was partially excavated and more of the army was discovered.

A relief of the Emperor himself.

In addition to the massive stone army, the Emperor also had a chariot pulled by bronze horses.

It’s tough to capture the size of the biggest pit in a photo.  It’s roughly 400m long by 250m wide; quite big.

After visiting the Terracotta Army, I headed to the Small Goose Pagoda, which was right next to my hotel in Xi’an.

 

The following day I headed back to Beijing.  Xi’an will be my last adventure in China.  I’ve got a little over a week left at my assignment before I head home.

Until then, safe travels.

2 comments
  1. gregorylent said:

    fifteen years ago someone told me the statues the public sees are not the real ones, but replicas .. and in a different location than the originals ..

    is that true? never been

Leave a Reply

